Tuesday, July 25, 2006

Rambling Thoughts of the Day

So somebody outbid me in the attempted purchase of SevenZeroThree.com. Sad, really. I'll bet they don't even come close to doing the things I wanted if for. I assume it either went back to the original owner, who absolutely had zero idea what the potential of the site was, or to some investor who thinks he can make money off of it. Well, at lease if it is an investor, he'll try to make something worthwhile. If it remains as it was, it'll be some stupid political rambling site for out of work hack "musicians" who are so talented, they aren't in a band.

How bout another movie recommendation? Try Crash. I know, out last year and already won the Academy Award for Best Picture. Regardless, rent it and see it. Again even. It is just that good.

Wanna talk about the war? Easy. Israel...keep pounding away til they go away.

Oh well, just felt like chatting. later.

Friday, July 14, 2006

Go See A Movie

So Johnny Depp has a new movie out, and it is a major blockbuster. Broke every record in its first 3 days of release. Should easily be a $300 million movie. What does this all mean? The critics, of course, HATE IT. Which brings up the question....why do we have critics? What is their major purpose in life?

The best I can figure is that movie critics are failed film school students who therefore have to convince people that their failure is the fault of the establishment, who obviously don't understand the knowledge and ability of the critic. They were judged, and deemed failures. But since they know everything about movies, the judges must be the real failures.

Here's the deal. A film is supposed to be ENTERTAINMENT. Especially when it is a blockbuster like Pirates. It isn't supposed to be "art".

In the end, the consumer will tell the critic what is good and what is bad. No matter how good a critic says a movie is, if it only makes $1 million at the gate, the consumer public has deemed it a failure. And all the awards and praise in the world won't make it a good movie in the eyes of the consumer public.

They tried their best in the weeks leading up to the release of Pirates to tell us NOT TO GO SEE IT! We ignored them. And it will continue to break all records. Critics be damned.

Thursday, July 13, 2006

SevenZeroThree.com

Well, it appears that the proud owners of SevenZeroThree.com have decided to not fork over the 5 or 10 bucks required to keep it running. This is one of those good news/bad news situations.

For the good news, it is simple. NO MORE STUPID PEOPLE POSTING AT THE SITE!!! Man, if I read one more idiotic posts written by musicians who aren't talented enough to actually be in a band I'm gonna slit my wrists.

For the bad news.....SZT had so much potential if only it had been run properly.

Now, it is interesting that this address is now available. I've made a bid for it, but I'm not going to mortgage the house to get it. But IF I DO...expect a much better website. My plan is to develop a site that is dedicated to the entertainment possibilities in the Northern Virginia area. And I've come to the determination that the entertainment possibilities in the Northern Virginia are not limited to bad musicians and singers that only know how to scream (poorly). I'm thinking comedy, music, venues and anything else that might be considered "entertainment".

So let me know what you want in the site, because I'm going to make it happen.

Friday, April 07, 2006

Why I ride...


"In the Wind". That's what they call motorcycle riding on the open rode. And its a perfect way to put it. There's not more satisfying to me than to get up to speed on an empty road on my motorcycle.

Yep, that's it. What I ride. 2005 Yamaha V-Star Silverado. I just settle in to that big assed seat and let it roll down the road. But to understand riding a motorcycle, you've got to experience. I just don't think a rider can possibly explain to a non-rider why they love it. They just do. There's a certain freedom that comes with riding that just can't be experienced anywhere else. Well...maybe skydiving...but without the screaming.

I usually ride with someone else. Not on my bike, but on their own. I notice out there that most riders do too. While I'm riding I have no idea why, because I don't pay attention to them or anyone else when I'm out there. I just roll on down the road. Don't let that sound like I don't want to be with a partner though. Because the beauty of a partner starts when the bikes stop. Breakfast, gas, a little drink and a snack....and lots of conversation. A good friend is a good thing to have on the road.

Next month we're planning a ride from Colorado to San Antonio, Texas. I just can't wait. 1,000 miles each way. The original plan is 500 miles each day, with a one-day break in San Antonio. But lately we've been talking about doing the trip down in one long shot. There's an organization called the Iron Butt Association that awards a patch for a 1,000 mile ride in under 24 hours. And since we're riding 1,o00 miles anyway, why not earn the patch?


There's many different other categories, with the ultimate being 10,000 miles in 10 days. Now that's an Iron Butt.

So I ride. Come ride with me.

Saturday, December 24, 2005

Time for a little Buc-in Love

What can I say? I'm an unapologetic Tampa Bay Bucs fan. Have been since their first pitiful oh-for-em-all season, and a 0-26 start over their first two seasons. And now I get to watch them return to the playoffs for the first time since their Super Bowl winning season a couple of years ago. It's a beautiful thing. Oh sure, they aren't in there yet, but they will be after they kick some Cajun ass next weekend when they host New Orleans. And when they win that game...they win the NFC South. And I can tell the naysayers F-off.

Of course, they aren't a team that can go very far once they get in the playoffs.....but....babysteps! Relax.

Thursday, December 22, 2005

It is almost ******mas!!!

I know, that isn't a real edit. But it sure feels like it, doesn't it? I don't care. I celebrate Christmas. If you don't, I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't get mad at me. Lets say your birthday is January 3rd. Mine isn't. But I still tell you "Happy Birthday" on January 3rd, even though I personally don't celebrate that particular day for any particular reason. And you still tell everyone IT'S MY BIRTHDAY!!!....even though it isn't theirs. And guess what? Nobody is offended. Think of Christmas the same way. If someone tells you Merry Christmas, and you don't celebrate Christmas....just say "Merry Christmas to you". Obviously they celebrate it, so all you are doing is turning it back around to them.

Make it that way with everything. People should just stop being offended by everything they see and hear. You see a manger scene somewhere? Think of it as just a farm scene. People and animals. Like the zoo. It isn't what you see...its the meaning you attach to it. So attach your own meaning, and ignore my mine.

Wouldn't it be beautiful if we could all be this way? That way we could completely eliminate the ACLU. And the day that happens would be a holiday we could all enjoy.

Saturday, December 17, 2005

I'm never surprised at how little Liberals surprise me...

Isn't is amazing that on the day that news reports were SUPPOSED to be detailing the amazing success of the elections in Iraq....they chose instead to concentrate on a story they all have known about for over a year? Wow, aren't we all just shocked that the American government is monitoring people communicating with terrorists overseas? Man, I just can't imagine how law enforcement officials would stoop so low as to try to prevent another terrorist attact on American soil.

Then, when the senators are supposed to be discussing the amazing success of the elections in Iraq.....they choose to instead discuss a program they have all been briefed on, over and over again.

In other words, the Liberal Media has once again decided to ignore ANY success in Iraq, and instead focus on anything they can find to try and embarrass the President.

Here's a clue as to their mentality. When the FIRST of only a handful of bombs went off on election day...MSN.com chose to run the headline "Explosions rock Iraq, threatening to disrupt elections". CNN.com ran the headline...."Election Day Relatively Peaceful". So which is it? Oh wait...both ran with the story about American law enforcement officials monitoring overseas communications following 9/11. And both had EXACTLY the same headline.

I'd love to be a Liberal. Truly I was. But the problem is, I have a brain. Perhaps I could go get a lobotomy, so I could then understand what it takes to be a Liberal.